a life just ordinary


Next We Learn To Enunciate
April 3, 2019, 8:43 am
Filed under: Family

I had a weird little conversation with one of my small humans this morning. One that managed to ruffle my righteous indignation and sense of justice. It went a little something like this.

“How was school, Jack?”

“It was fine. I had some trouble with the racist teachers not letting me play with my friends.”

“I’m sorry, say that again?”

“My teachers, the racist teachers… they won’t let me play with my friends that I want to.”

” They won’t let you play with these friends? Why? Which friends?” I can feel my hackles start to raise. Mommy don’t play this game.

“All of my friends,” he said. “I have all kinds of friends.”

He is pretty awesome, if you ask me.

“You should be able to play with whomever you want to, Jack. Having lots of different friends is what makes life interesting.” I was mentally scheduling time in my day to call the teachers and see what was going on. There is no way this was happening in 2019.

“That’s what I said,” he replied. “I just want to play with everybody… but then they tell me it’s time to go back into school.”

“Wait, what?”

“Yeah, when recess is over. The racist teachers make us go inside.”

“The racist teachers?” I asked.

“Yes, the ones that watch the playground while we play.”

“Your recess teachers?”

“Yes, what did you think I said?”

“Your racist teachers.”

“What does that mean?” he asked.

“People who don’t like people who look different than them.”

“Well that’s just stupid.”

Crisis averted. No one is corrupting my sweet boy. And there is hope for the future, since hating someone who looks different is stupid. Next we work on our enunciation.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment